Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Big plans, bright future

View Cabinet Decision Record

Cabinet Decision: 19th April 2012
Title of Item/Report
LA Nominations
Record of the Decision
In accordance with the procedure for the appointment of school governors, approved at Minute 84 of the Cabinet (11th May 2000), Cabinet were requested to approve the nomination to school Governing Body as detailed within the report.

RESOLVED that appointment be made to the vacant Governorship subject to successful List 99 check and Personal Disclosure, as follows:-

Bader Primary School - Mr Allan Fishpool
Barley Fields Primary School - Mrs L Davidson
Fairfield Primary School - Mrs W Spurr
Frederick Nattrass Primary School - Cllr Steve Nelson
Layfield Primary School - Jane Wright
Mill Lane Primary School - Cllr D Coleman
Preston Primary School - Mrs K Stockley
Rosebrook Primary School - Mrs J Appleby, Cllr J Beall, Mrs A Cains
The Glebe Primary School - Mr J Brodie
Wolviston Primary School - Mr Graham Thirlaway
Reasons for the Decision
As a result of the expiry of current Governors terms of office and resignations, a vacancy exists on the Governing Bodies detailed in the Appendix to the report. Under powers vested in them by paragraph 79 of the 1996 Education Act, the Local Authority had a duty to appoint representatives to serve as Governors on the Governing Bodies of all Schools maintained by them.
Alternative Options Considered and Rejected
Declared (Cabinet Member) Conflicts of Interest
Councillors Coleman and Nelson declared personal, non-prejudicial interests in respect of this item as a result of their nomination to Frederick Nattrass and Mill Lane Primary Schools respectively.
Details of any Dispensations
Not Applicable
Date and Time by which Call In must be executed
Midnight on Friday 27 April 2012

Date of Publication: 30 April 2012

Can't find it

Can't find what you're looking for? Let us know and we'll do our best to point you in the right direction